Our Philosophy

At St Saviour’s we support our children in becoming happy, inquisitive and successful learners through a balanced curriculum of child-led activities, free choice and adult led group learning.

We provide a varied range of activities that stimulate the children’s imaginations and meet their needs. We cover the 7 different areas of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum, which means we’re able to ensure that each child engages in all areas of learning, even those they may find challenging.

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)?

This is the curriculum for children aged between 0 and 5 years. The EYFS is organised into 7 areas of learning with a strong emphasis on active learning, play, exploration and thinking critically.

The Seven Areas of Learning
Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Children are encouraged to make friends, take turns and develop self-confidence.
This includes sorting, counting, and calculating activities, as well as shape recognition, measuring, weighing and problem-solving.
Physical Development
We encourage the children to explore ways of moving and to learn how to use tools and equipment with greater control.
Communication and Language
We provide opportunities to develop speaking and listening skills.
The children enjoy a wide range of stories and rhymes, which alongside the exploration of mark-making and pre-reading activities, offers a sound foundation in literacy.
Expressive Arts and Design
This includes creative activities, imaginative play, music, movement, dance and drama.
Understanding the World
We support the development of an interest in science, nature, ITC, design and construction, and an awareness of different cultures and beliefs.
More information

More information about the EYFS can be found here www.foundationyears.org.uk

You can find out more about what you can do with your child at home at What to Expect When?